Website address change…

Posted: May 17, 2018

I wanted to reach out to the Region to remind everyone of the upcoming Society name change from the American Society of Safety Engineers (ASSE) to the American Society of Safety Professionals (ASSP). As with any change there are a number of things that must be considered and one of those is how you will find our website. The current site will remain active until the name change on June 1st, after which we can be reached at Please remember to update your book marks to reflect the new name and I hope to see you at Safety 2018 in San Antonio.

Updated Region V area map

Posted: Jul 05, 2017

Safety 2017 Update

Posted: Jun 29, 2017

Over 5000 safety and health professionals attended Safety 2017 in Denver – record-breaking attendance and exposition.  Over 600 members from Region V attended the PDC – many of whom were speaking on such diverse topics as “Improving General Industry Qualitative Risk Assessments Using LOPA Concepts”, “Human Error: There is NO Root Cause”, and “Highlights of the Newly Released ASSE/ANSI Z244.1 Lockout/Tagout Standard”.  We also learned about “airdrop” for sharing photos and videos.

There was a lively debate at the House of Delegates as we discussed and voted on a dues increase (passed – $10 a year increase over 3 years), a name change (check your inbox to vote on the change to American Society of Safety Professionals), and a logo change (did not pass – but current logo would need to reflect name change should that pass the membership vote).

It was an opportunity to reconnect with friends and make new ones – even those from around the world.

We heard about the power of “5-4-3-2-1”, change management, whether or not BBS is actually dead, and the “7 C’s of Success”.  If you attended – make a plan to share the information you learned with others in your organization to help move safety in your organization forward.


Welcoming Banner

Denver Children’s Chorale

Past Nigerian Chapter President

Nigerian Reception

Safety 2017 Recognition

Posted: Jun 29, 2017

I have known we have many talented and dedicated members in Region V.  This was very apparent during Safety 2017 and the various awards and recognitions that are presented.

At the House of Delegates meeting, Al Borzych from Greater Chicago received the Culbertson Volunteer Award

Georgi Popov from the Heart of America Chapter was not only recognized as the Region V SPY, but also recognized along with Bruce Lyon (also Heart of America Chapter) was recognized for the Outstanding Professional Paper Award – 1st Place.

Illinois State University was recognized as Outstanding Student Section of the Year.  Go Cardinals!

At Wednesday’s General Session, Justin Artman with ISU received a $10,000 impact scholarship.

Dr Georgi Popov, Heart of America Chapter, received the Outstanding Student Educator Award.

And on Thursday, at the BCSP luncheon, Area 1 Director, James Lange, received the OHST Award of Excellence.

Popov Professional Paper Award

Al Borzych – Culbertson

Popov and Lyon

Dr Georgi Popov

Popov – Outstanding Educator

Justin Artman – ISU – Impact Scholarship Recipient

James Lange, OHST Award of Excellence




Chapter Recognition – Safety 2017

Posted: Jun 29, 2017

On June 20, 2017 at Safety 2017 in Denver, all of the Region V chapters were recognized for achieving the silver level or higher through the Chapter Operations and Management Tool (COMT) for the 2015-2016 chapter year.  The tool measures how well the chapter is providing services to its members and the surrounding community.  We were the ONLY region to have all chapters at this level.

The Northeastern Illinois, Northwest, and Wisconsin chapters achieved Platinum status – going above and beyond.  This was the second time since the COMT was rolled out that NEIL achieved Platinum. Gold Level Chapters included: Badgerland, Greater Chicago, Hawkeye, Heart of America, Quad Cities, St Louis, and Three Rivers.  Silver Level Chapters included Central Illinois, Great Plains, Nicolet, Northeast Iowa, and Wichita.  Congratulations to all of our chapters and their leaders!

Platinum Winner – NEIL

Platinum Winner – Wisconsin

Platinum Winner – Northwest